HUMAN RIGHTS FILM FESTIVAL BERLIN 2021

From September 16th to 25th, SOONER brings you the HRFFB straight from the heart of Berlin!

Get your Online-Pass

The Art of Change

Stories of activists, human rights defenders, and humanitarian workers take center stage this year. Start streaming 38 films that invite you to stand up, speak out, and be curious about the world today.

Competition

The Willy Brandt Documentary Award for Freedom and Human Rights honors a documentary film for its outstanding artistic achievement and content. The Documentary Film Award is intended to commemorate Willy Brandt's achievements as German Chancellor and Nobel Peace Prize laureate and to support outstanding filmmakers. The prize, endowed with 3,000 EUR by the Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt Foundation, has been awarded annually since 2019 to a documentary film for its outstanding artistic achievement and content. Previous winners were Askold Kurov for his documentary "Novaya" and Sam Soko for "Softie".

Watch now

Amnesty International

For the first time, Amnesty is partnering the HRFF with its own film series, not least to draw attention to current cases of human rights violations. Films such as "Fly So Far," "Unapologetic" and "Welcome to Czechnya" raise awareness of the importance of our human rights. Through them, we learn that people are not discouraged, but stand up for freedom and their rights.

Watch now

Aktion gegen den Hunger

Aktion gegen den Hunger presents impressive activists: In MAYOR, Musa Hadid fights for dignity and quality of life for his fellow citizens as mayor of Ramallah, in a city that officially does not belong to any country. In The ANTS AND THE GRASSHOPPER we meet Anita Chitaya, who fights for equality and against climate change in Malawi. TOXIC BUSINESS is about the power of international chemical companies selling carcinogenic agricultural pesticides in Kenya. Fears about the future preoccupy the people on Takuu as well as Mahmoud and Fawzi - for different reasons: THERE ONCE WAS AN ISLAND shows a community whose homeland is being swallowed up as a result of climate change, while the two boys in CAPTAINS OF ZAATARI see football as the only way out of a Jordanian refugee camp.

Watch now

Save the Children

Every new path begins with the first step. This means taking a step out of powerlessness, a lack of prospects, or a destructive life situation for our young protagonists. And a decision to change and take life into their own hands.

In these films, viewers get to know children and young people who, each in their own way, apply the "art of change" in order to survive. Thus we encounter the art of endurance in Wandering, the art of healing in Imad's Childhood, the art of self-assertion in Bangla Surf Girls, Shadow Games tells of the art of migration, and the art of creativity stands out in "... and here we are!". A Film School in Moria". A film series that inspires and encourages to take the first step towards change.

Watch now

The life and work of Benjamin Ferencz

At this year’s Human Rights Film Festival Berlin, we are presenting three powerful and moving films that portray the life and work of this passionate advocate of international law.

Watch now

Get your HRFFB Online Pass

All films of the Human Rights Film Festival Berlin program can be rented and streamed individually.

For those who crave more, we offer a festival pass - you can choose between the 5-film package for for 25€ or the festival pass for 50€, which gives you access to the entire HRFFB festival program.

Order now

HUMAN RIGHTS FILM FESTIVAL BERLIN 2021

Das HRFFB gibt euch eine Zugabe - Ihr könnt euch alle Festivalfilme noch bis zum 3. Oktober exklusiv auf SOONER ansehen.

Jetzt Online-Pass bestellen

The Art of Change

Geschichten von Aktivist:innen, Menschenrechtsverteidiger:innen und humanitären Hilfskräften stehen dieses Jahr im Mittelpunkt. Streamt ab sofort 38 Filme, die euch dazu einladen, aufzustehen, eure Stimme zu erheben und neugierig auf die Welt von heute zu sein.

Wettbewerb

Der Willy-Brandt-Dokumentarfilmpreis für Freiheit und Menschenrechte soll an Willy Brandts Leistungen als Bundeskanzler und Friedensnobelpreisträger erinnern und herausragende Filmemacher*innen unterstützen. Der mit 3.000 EUR von der Bundeskanzler-Willy-Brandt-Stiftung dotierte Preis zeichnet seit 2019 jährlich einen Dokumentarfilm für seine herausragende künstlerische und inhaltliche Leistung aus. Bisherige Preisträger waren Askold Kurov für seinen Dokumentarfilm „Novaya“ und Sam Soko für „Softie“.

Jetzt ansehen

Amnesty International

Amnesty International setzt sich auf Grundlage der Allgemeinen Erklärung derMenschenrechte für eine Welt ein, in der die Rechte aller Menschen geachtet werden. Die Stärke der Organisation liegt im Engagement von weltweit mehr als zehn Millionen Mitgliedern und Unterstützer_innen, die mit Mut, Kraft und Fantasie für eine Welt ohne Menschenrechtsverletzungen eintreten. 1977 erhielt Amnesty den Friedensnobelpreis.

Jetzt ansehen

Aktion gegen den Hunger

Aktion gegen den Hunger präsentiert beeindruckende Aktivist*innen: Musa Hadid kämpft in MAYOR als Bürgermeister von Ramallah für Würde und Lebensqualität seiner Mitbürger*innen, in einer Stadt, die offiziell zu keinem Land gehört. In The ANTS AND THE GRASSHOPPER lernen wir Anita Chitaya kennen, die in Malawi für Gleichberechtigung und gegen den Klimawandel kämpft. In TOXIC BUSINESS geht es um die Macht internationaler Chemiekonzerne, die krebserregende Agrarpestizide in Kenia verkaufen. Zukunftsängste beschäftigen die Menschen auf Takuu sowie Mahmoud und Fawzi – aus unterschiedlichen Gründen: THERE ONCE WAS AN ISLAND zeigt eine Gemeinschaft, deren Heimat infolge des Klimawandels verschluckt wird, während die beiden Jungs in CAPTAINS OF ZAATARI Fußball als einzigen Ausweg aus einem jordanischen Flüchtlingscamp sehen.

Jetzt ansehen

Save the Children

Jeder neue Weg beginnt mit dem ersten Schritt. Für unsere jungen Protagonist*innen bedeutet dies ein Schritt raus aus Ohnmacht, Perspektivlosigkeit oder einer destruktiven Lebenssituation. Und eine Entscheidung, sich zu verändern und das Leben selbst in die Hand zu nehmen.

In diesen Filmen lernen Zuschauer*innen Kinder und Jugendliche kennen, die auf je eigene Weise die „Kunst der Veränderung“ anwenden, um zu überleben. So begegnen wir in Wandering der Kunst des Ertragens, in Imad’s Childhood der Kunst der Heilung, in Bangla Surf Girls der Kunst der Selbstbehauptung, Shadow Games erzählt von der Kunst der Migration und die Kunst der Kreativität steht in „... and here we are! Eine Filmschule in Moria” im Focus. Eine Filmreihe, die inspiriert und ermutigt, den ersten Schritt zur Veränderung zu tun.

Jetzt ansehen

Leben und Wirken von Benjamin Ferencz

Beim diesjährigen Human Rights Film Festival Berlin zeigen wir drei eindringliche und bewegende Filme, die das Leben und Werk des stets leidenschaftlichen Anwalts für Völkerrechts porträtieren.

Jetzt ansehen

Hol dir deinen HRFFB Online-Pass

Alle Filme des Human Rights Film Festival Berlin Programmes lassen sich individuell ausleihen und streamen.

Wenn du Lust auf mehr hast, ist ein Festival-Pass das Richtige für dich - du hast die Wahl zwischen dem 5er Filmpaket für 25€ und dem Festivalpass für 50€ mit dem du Zugang zum gesamten HRFFB Festivalprogramm erhältst.

Jetzt bestellen